Released July 20: June 2017 milk production in the 23 states for which USDA reports monthly was 16.9 billion pounds, up 1.7 percent from June 2016. May revised production at 17.8 billion pounds was up 1.9 percent from May 2016.

Change in 23 selected states when comparing June's milk production with a year ago:
Arizona up 3.8 percent; California down 2.1 percent
Colorado up 8.1 percent; Florida up 1.4 percent
Idaho up 1.9 percent; Illinois up 3.8 percent
Indiana up 2.7 percent; Iowa up 1.7 percent
Kansas up 4.1 percent; Michigan up 2.8 percent
Minnesota up 1.4 percent; New Mexico up 9.8 percent
New York up 0.4 percent; Ohio up 0.4 percent
Oregon down 3.2 percent; Pennsylvania unchanged
South Dakota up 2.9 percent; Texas up 15.0 percent
Utah up 6.1 percent; Vermont down 0.4 percent
Virginia down 1.4 percent; Washington down 1.3 percent
Wisconsin up 0.2 percent

Production per cow in the 23 major states averaged 1,939 pounds for June, 13 pounds above June 2016.

The number of milk cows on farms in the 23 major states was 8.73 million head. This is 83,000 head more than June 2016 and 4,000 head more than May 2017.

The annual production of milk for the U.S. during 2016 was 212 billion pounds, 1.8 percent above 2015. Revisions to 2015 production decreased the annual total 36 million pounds. Revised 2016 production was down 76 million pounds from January 2017's publication. Production per cow averaged 22,774 pounds for 2016, 378 pounds above 2015. The average number of milk cows during 2016 on United States farms was 9.33 million head, up 0.2 percent from 2015.

Milk production data for 23 states from USDA is released around the 18th of the month following the month for which the information applies. At the same time the current production figures are released, updated data for the previous month's milk production is released. This graph reflects the updated information.

The 23 states for which the USDA reports milk production are: Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.