June 5 2023 09:01 AM

Nineteen young women in agriculture receive support for their education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The Association of Women in Agriculture Benefit Corporation (AWABC) awarded 19 scholarships totaling over $14,000 to Association of Women in Agriculture (AWA) members during their annual meeting on Saturday, April 15.

Nicole Broege received the Dr. Larry Satter Memorial Scholarship. Nicole is a junior majoring in dairy science and is from Janesville, Wis. Dr. Larry Satter was a world-renowned dairy scientist who served as a long-time campus advisor to AWA. This year a second scholarship was awarded from this fund. Kylie Konyn received the second $1,000 scholarship. Kylie is a sophomore majoring in dairy science.

Amanda Bender, a freshman studying plant pathology from Walworth, Wis., was awarded the Delma Woodburn Memorial Scholarship. Delma Woodburn shared an interest in women’s success in agriculture and provided encouragement and resources to AWA.

The Dr. David Dickson Scholarship was presented to Elise Bleck, a junior studying dairy science with a certificate in global health. Dr. David Dickson was known around the world for his dairy cattle evaluation and coaching skills. He made significant contributions to AWA and mentored many members.

Sadie Goettl was awarded the Cynthia Benevenga Memorial Scholarship. Sadie is majoring in agricultural business management. Cynthia Benevenga was an avid supporter of women’s education and AWA.

Four AWA Active Member scholarships were awarded to Natalie Roe, Jacee Johnson, Molly Olstad and Emma Vos.

Roe hails from Monticello, Wis. and is a junior studying dairy science and life sciences communication. Johnson is majoring in Animal Science. Olstad of Stoughton, Wis. is a junior studying life sciences communication. Vos is a sophomore majoring in Agricultural Business Management.

AWA House Resident Scholarships were awarded to five young women: Mae Buttles studying supply chain management, marketing and human resource management; Olivia McDonald from Janesville, Wis. is studying life sciences communication; Jenna Gries, a freshman studying dairy science; Maryann Gudenkauf from Watertown, Wis. studying dairy science; Mary Schrieber, a freshman majoring in life sciences communication.

Melissa Konkel and Sophia Green each received $1,000 scholarships provided by Demeter. Demeter is a non-profit organization that provides fellowship and supports scholarships for students in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Konkel is from Elkhorn, Wis. and is a junior studying dairy science. Green is a sophomore studying animal science. Megan Moede and Lindsay Propst received $500 scholarships from Demeter as well. Moede is from Algoma, Wis. and is a junior studying agricultural and applied economics and life sciences communication. Propst is a sophomore majoring in genetics and genomics.

The Nicole Bangart Memorial Scholarship was established in 2015 as the Bangart Family and Brady Kees provided a scholarship directly to a deserving AWA member. Now awarded through the Foundation, the Nicole Bangart Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Megan Baker from Yorkville, Wis. who is studying biochemistry

In addition, one memorial scholarship was given in honor of a former AWA member. The Kelsey Jo Olson Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Megan Moede of Algoma, Wis. This award was made possible by the Olson family.