The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is inviting Wisconsin dairy farmers who are interested in serving the state's dairy industry to submit a nomination to represent their district as a Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) director. DATCP, which oversees the nomination and election process, recently announced the 8 out of 25 districts currently up for election (see map). Producers who are interested in serving as a director can contact Noel Favia at (608) 224-5140 or for a nomination form or access an electronic copy at

WMMB directors guide the organization's finances, formulate and set its policies and long-range business plan and maintain its mission: To help grow demand for Wisconsin milk by providing programs that enhance the competitiveness of the Wisconsin Dairy Industry. Through these initiatives, a WMMB director has the opportunity to represent Wisconsin dairy farmers and products, as well as become involved in activities that inform and educate consumers.

To qualify, a nominee must be an active dairy farmer who sells milk into commercial channels and lives in the represented district. Each potential candidate must acquire at least five signatures from active dairy producers within the district, submit a completed nomination form, and have the "Affidavit of Eligibility" certification requirement notarized. Nominations must be postmarked by February 22, 2013.

DATCP currently is mailing "Shaping the Future" postcards containing election information to all dairy producers who reside within the eight affected districts. Interested producers who haven't received a postcard by February 11 should contact DATCP at (608) 224-5140 or In addition, producers can visit for more information about director responsibilities and the election process.

Every year, one-third of the 25-member WMMB Board of Directors is elected to three-year terms. For 2013, active dairy producers in affected districts (see black areas on the map) are invited to submit a nomination to represent their district as a WMMB director.