Milk producers who are eligible and interested in running for a Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) director seat have until February 22, 2013, to submit a nomination form to the Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP).

In order to qualify, DATCP says a nominee must be an active dairy producer who: 1) lives in a district up for election (see table below), and 2) sells milk into commercial channels.
WMMB logo

District 3 Counties: Lincoln, Oneida, Price, Taylor
District 6 Counties: Chippewa, Eau Claire
District 9 Counties: Menominee, Shawano, Waupaca
District 12 Counties: Portage, Waushara, Wood
District 15 Counties: Adams, Juneau, Monroe
District 18 Counties: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha
District 21 Counties: Crawford, Vernon
District 24 Counties: Dane, Jefferson

Each candidate must submit a completed nomination form and have the "Affidavit of Eligibility" (on the nomination form) notarized. In addition, nominees must acquire at least five signatures from active dairy producers who reside in the same district.

After nominations have been certified, DATCP will hold a mail-in ballot election April 8-27, with results announced later in May. Elected directors will then serve a three-year term beginning July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2016.
US Jersey logo
2013 WMMB Board of Director Election Calendar*
February 22 Nomination Forms Must Be Postmarked
March 13 Candidates Announced
April 8-27 Election Period
Early May Results Announced
*These dates are projected and are subject to change.

Nomination forms are available online at, or for a hard copy, contact DATCP at (608) 224-5140 or