Holstein USA

With the 2016 National Holstein Convention successfully concluded, the election of delegates for the 2017 Annual Meeting is underway.
Delegates attend Holstein Association USA's Annual Meeting, representing the members in their election district, to elect officers and board members and to vote on bylaw amendments and resolutions.

At the 2015 Annual Meeting, delegates voted to amend an Association bylaw to allow one additional delegate for every 100 (formerly 150) active members in each election district. This will increase the total number of delegates for the 2017 Annual Meeting to 143 delegates allowed.

The 2017 Annual Meeting will be held in Bellevue, Washington, June 30-July 1.
Here are the important deadlines to take into account:

August 1 - Nominating petitions mailed to members
September 30 - Nominating petitions must be received by Holstein Association USA
October 14 - Deadline for nominees to withdraw names from the ballot
November 1 - Ballots mailed to members
January 2, 2017 - Ballots must be received by Holstein Association USA
February 1, 2017 - 2017 delegate election finalized

In accordance with Holstein Association USA bylaws, the following members are ineligible to serve in 2017, having served three consecutive years as elected delegates:

Donald T. Bennink, Florida
David F. Rottinghaus, Kansas
Janice K. Albrecht, Minnesota
Matthew Hendel, Minnesota
Brad Groves, Missouri
Alicia Lamb, New York
Willard H. Peck, New York
Joseph Miley, Ohio
Ted S. Renner, Ohio
David W. Bitler, Pennsylvania
Dean W. Jackson, Pennsylvania
Richard N. Mellinger, Pennsylvania
Matthew James Nuckols, Virginia
Paula A. Bovre, Wisconsin
Kevin Jorgensen, Wisconsin
Christopher M. McCullough, Wisconsin
Chad J. Ryan, Wisconsin
Karyn Schauf, Wisconsin
Robert J. Schauf, Wisconsin

Return to Industry Buzz.