The information listed below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. The information provided here has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The dairy checkoff has awarded 13 academic scholarships to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy and who have shown potential to become future dairy leaders.

Laura Jensen
The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), through Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to each student. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient.

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science or agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Laura Jensen from the University of Minnesota is this year’s winner of the James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship. Students earning $2,500 scholarships are:

Lauren Chirnside (University of Wisconsin), Morgan Goche (South Dakota State), Simon Itle (Penn State), Kristin Mohr (South Dakota State), Shayna Popkes (South Dakota State), Mariah Schmitt (Iowa State), Audrey Schmitz (Kansas State), Lauren Sipple (University of Wisconsin), Gabriella Sorg (University of Minnesota), Audrey Souza (South Dakota State), Maggie Stiles (South Dakota State) and Jacob Weg (South Dakota State).

About Dairy Management

Dairy Management Inc.™ (DMI) is funded by America’s nearly 43,000 dairy farmers, as well as dairy importers. Created to help increase sales and demand for dairy products, DMI and its related organizations work to increase demand for dairy through research, education and innovation, and to maintain confidence in dairy foods, farms and businesses. DMI manages National Dairy Council and the American Dairy Association, and founded the U.S. Dairy Export Council, and the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy