The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The Iowa Division Board of Midwest Dairy awarded 11 $1,000 scholarships to college students who are from Iowa and who have a background in dairy. The annual scholarship is provided to students displaying leadership, academic performance, work experience, and participation in activities and events. The winners of the scholarship awards are the following:

  • Thomas Lehmann, Durango
  • Shana Hilgerson, Elkader
  • Katelyn Goldsmith, Earlville
  • Jenna Chapman, Ruthven
  • Megan Bushman, Calmar
  • Jessica Schmitt, Fort Atkins
  • Keeley Greco, Dorchester
  • Payton Duitscher, Rolfe
  • Ashley Schwartzhoff, Decorah
  • Meghan Hettinga, Orange City
  • Theodore Hilgerson, Elkader

Two additional scholarships will be awarded to the Iowa Dairy Princess and Alternate upon completion of their duties following the Iowa State Fair. The Iowa Dairy Princess and Alternate who will receive these scholarships are Rachel Grober from Lonia and Josie Buddenberg from Decorah.

These scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement, an interest in a career in a dairy-related discipline, and demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Midwest Dairy™ represents 7,000 dairy farm families and works on their behalf to build dairy demand by inspiring consumer confidence in our products and production practices. We are committed to Bringing Dairy to Life! by Giving Consumers an Excellent Dairy Experience and are funded by farmers across a 10-state region, including Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas and eastern Oklahoma. For more information, visit Follow us on Twitter and find us on Facebook at Midwest Dairy.