The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

Nominations are now open for the National Mastitis Council (NMC) Award of Excellence for Contribution to Mastitis Prevention and Control. This award recognizes an NMC member who has provided sustained contributions to mastitis prevention and control through research, extension and/or education, clinical practice or service to dairy producers. Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim, the award carries a cash honorarium and travel stipend to attend the National Mastitis Council 59th Annual Meeting, January 28-31, Orlando, Fla., where the award will be presented.

To nominate an individual, complete the nomination form, which can be found at:, and submit two or three letters of support. These letters should describe how the nominee has met award criteria, including time in the dairy industry, positions held, major contributions to mastitis prevention and milk quality, research, publications, leadership roles, participation in NMC activities and industry involvement. Also, include the nominee’s CV (curriculum vitae) and/or resume. Nominations are due October 31.

Questions? Contact JoDee Sattler at

Previous Award of Excellence recipients include Ken Leslie, University of Guelph; K. Larry Smith, The Ohio State University; the late Tom Herremans, Michigan Milk Producers Association; Larry Fox, Washington State University; Anne Saeman, National Mastitis Council; Robert Harmon, University of Kentucky; Joseph Hogan, The Ohio State University; and Andrew Johnson, Grande Cheese Company.