The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The 2019 Annual Meeting of the American Embryo Transfer Association was held October 24-26 at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort in Colorado Springs, Colorado. More than 400 national and international attendees came together. The meeting hosted oral and poster presentations as well as commercial exhibits. Special events included the preconference social, companion tours, and awards banquet.

Listed below are the winners of the 2019 AETA awards who were recognized at the 2019 meeting and the incoming 2020 AETA Board of Directors.

The Edwin Robertson Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Dr. Brad Stroud – Weatherford, TX

AETA President’s Award

  • Dr. Charles Looney – Hope, AR

Honorary Lifetime Membership

  • Dr. Roger Davis – Crossfield, AB, Canada

2019 AETA Student scholarship winners. Also pictured are Dr. Matt Iager, AETA President, and Dr. Matthew Dorshorst, AETA Vice President

Student Scholarship Recipients

  • Josh Brown, University of Minnesota
  • David Hardesty, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Sarah Harp, The Ohio State University
  • Makayla Hawbaker, University of Wisconsin
  • Russell Johnson, Tuskegee University
  • Kaitlin Karl, Michigan State University
  • Mariah Markle, Louisiana State University
  • Hilary Seals, Auburn University
  • Nicholas Shen, Lincoln Memorial University
  • Michael Topper, University of Pennsylvania

Board of Directors

  • President – Dr. Matthew Dorshorst, Marshfield, WI
  • Vice President – Dr. William Croushore, Berlin, PA
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Dr. Clay Breiner, Westmoreland, KS
  • Immediate Past President – Dr. Matt Iager, Boonsboro, MD
  • Director – Dr. Kory Bigalk, Rochester, MN
  • Director – Dr. Pat Comyn, Madison, VA
  • Director – Dr. Brad Lindsey, Midway, TX
  • Director – Dr. Greg Schueller, Whitewater, WI
  • Director – Dr. Jeremy VanBoening, Alma, NE

In addition, the AETA announces its 2020 joint annual convention with the Canadian Embryo Transfer Association (CETA), to be held October 5-7, following the World Dairy Expo. The 2020 joint meeting will be held at the Madison Marriott West in Madison, WI.

The purpose of the AETA is to unite those organizations and individuals in the United States engaged in the embryo transfer industry into an affiliated federation operating under self-imposed standards of performance and conduct. Members aim to present a unified voice of the industry to promote the mutual interests and ideals of the members; to protect the users of the embryo transfer industry to the extent technically and ethically possible; to educate the public properly on the status and capability of the United States embryo transfer industry; and to encourage others to engage in the pursuit of this industry. For more information about the AETA, please visit