July 9 2020 01:59 PM

$21,000 is being awarded to the 2020 FarmFirst Scholarship Winners

The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

Madison, Wis. [July 8, 2020] – FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative is proud to award $21,000 in scholarships to 27 deserving individuals for this year. Since 2013, FarmFirst has been generously providing scholarships to 192 individuals, awarding more than $166,000 throughout the past eight years.

“This is truly an outstanding scholarship program, made possibly by the commitment of members and board leaders throughout the years to support the future endeavors of our youngest generation involved in agriculture,” says Julie Sweney, Director of Communications & Marketing for FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative. “As students pursue and build their careers, they know that FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative is supporting them.”

“Education is a vital piece to the foundation of our cooperative, for our members today and our future members, which includes today’s youth. FarmFirst continues to dedicate resources to building up the next generation of agricultural leaders by giving back to our members and their families,” says Jeff Lyon, General Manager of FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative. “When these students succeed, in the classroom and later on in their careers, we all succeed.”

This year’s scholarship recipients include: Wyatt Artac of Greenwood, Wis.; Claire Bangart of Stratford, Wis.; Carley Jo Ciolkosz of Thorp, Wis.; Judsom Doman of Rib Lake, Wis.; Abby Frisk of New Lisbon, Wis.; Katie Gindt of Boyd, Wis.; Rebecca Havelka of Wallace, Mich.; Jordan Helle of Worthington, Iowa; Serenity Hetke of Ladysmith, Wis.; Paul Hoesly of Granton, Wis.; Paul Kollross of Arpin, Wis.; Makenna Koopmans of Cambria, Wis.; Kari Kreklau of Stetsonville, Wis.; Wyatt Lebal of Kennan, Wis.; Morgan Lebal of Kennan, Wis.; Makayla Loppnow of Reedsville, Wis.; Kaitlyn Martin of Pulaski, Wis.; Anastasia McCourt of Fond du Lac, Wis.; Grady Moorse of Minneota, Minn.; Laura Mueller of Newton, Wis.; Benjamin Page of Gresham, Wis.; Amber Post of Lake Wilson, Minn.; Bailey Sellent of Almena, Wis.; Olivia Smidel of Kewaunee, Wis.; Reanna Stowe of Athens, Wis.; Abigail Tomandl of Medford, Wis.; and Brianna Wanek of Cashton, Wis.

Scholarship recipients were selected based on leadership, scholastic achievement, extracurricular activities, essay responses and their future plans and career goals. All members of FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative and their children attending four-year universities, two-year technical programs or short courses and high school seniors planning for postsecondary education were eligible to apply for the scholarships.

FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative, established in 2013 and based in Madison, Wis., represents farmers in Wisconsin, Minnesota, South Dakota, Michigan, Iowa, Illinois and Indiana by providing legislative and regulatory advocacy, dairy marketing services, disaster protection, laboratory testing opportunities and industry promotion. FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative is a merger of three long-time prominent Wisconsin-based cooperatives. Learn more about FarmFirst Dairy Cooperative by visiting: www.FarmFirstDairyCooperative.com.