The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

Minnesota Milk Producers Association named Congressman Collin Peterson (District MN-07), as its 2020 Legislator of the Year.

As Congressman and current House Agriculture Committee Chairman, Peterson has been a great dairy and agricultural advocate for 30 years serving the Seventh Congressional District of Minnesota. “He really listens to the concerns that dairy farmers have,” said Dave Buck, Minnesota Milk President. “He truly understands the implications of dairy policy better than any lawmaker that we work with.”

Peterson is in his second term as Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture, which has jurisdiction over a wide range of agriculture and rural development issues, including the Farm Bill, renewable energy, disaster assistance, nutrition, crop insurance, conservation, rural development, international trade, futures market regulation, animal and plant health, agricultural research, bioterrorism, forestry, and others.

“Representative Peterson is deserving of this award because of his overall dedication to all farmers nationwide,” said Garrett Luthens, Minnesota Milk policy chair. “He understands the role that farmers play in providing a secure food supply and works to ensure his colleagues on Capitol Hill recognize this.”

Congressman Peterson received this recognition recently in an award presentation at Sand Hill Dairy in Perham, Minnesota.