The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

Junior Holstein members were recognized for their participation in a variety of activities during the Junior Awards Banquet on June 23, 2021 at the National Junior Holstein Convention in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Youth showcase their talents while developing lifelong skills through the contests and activities during convention.

“We were excited to hold in-person contests for our Junior members this year,” said Kelli Dunklee, Holstein Association USA Youth Program Specialist. “It was evident with the attendance there continues to be a strong passion for the Holstein cow, youth contests, and networking among our Junior members.”

Prepared Public Speaking

Broken into three age divisions, 35 youth members participated in the prepared public speaking competition. Following are the results from each division.

Junior Division (ages 9-13 as of January 1)

1st place: Lily Marshman, New York

2nd place: Sophia Geppert, Missouri

3rd place: Drew Lueking, Illinois

Intermediate Division (ages 14-17 as of January 1)

1st place: Lila Sloan, Illinois

2nd place: Salem Sifford, Virginia

3rd place: Regan Jackson, Virginia

Senior Division (ages 18-21 as of January 1)

1st place: Blake Wright, Missouri

2nd place: Brianna Meyer, Wisconsin

3rd place: Miriam Cook, Michigan

NHWSO Awards Scholarships

Eight Junior Holstein members were awarded scholarships by the National Holstein Women’s Scholarship Organization (NHWSO) during the National Junior Holstein Convention. This year’s top recipient, receiving a $5,000 scholarship, was Hayley Fernandes of California. Receiving $2,500 scholarships were Bobby Marchy, California; Gregory Norris, Massachusetts; and Alexis Payne, New York. Recipients of $500 scholarships were Hannah Mancebo, California; Isaac Nelson, Minnesota; Carly Strauss, Wisconsin; and Madison Weaver, Pennsylvania.

New Representatives Elected to Junior Advisory Committee (JAC)

Five new youth area representatives were elected to the National Junior Advisory Committee during the National Junior Forum. The following youth members were appointed to the Junior Advisory Committee: Area I – Ryan Allen, Maryland; Area II – Miriam Cook, Michigan: Area III – Brianna Meyer, Wisconsin; Area IV – Blake Wright, Missouri; and At-Large – Abby Stoltzfus, Pennsylvania.

The JAC is the governing body of the Junior Association and oversees the organization’s activities. Youth committee members were elected by Junior members during the National Junior Forum in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and members serve two-year terms.

For more coverage on the 2021 National Holstein Convention, visit or look for the upcoming Summer 2021 edition of The Pulse.