Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced 11 appointments to the
National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board. Four of the appointees will serve out the remainingterms for four vacancies, and the other seven appointees will serve full 3-year terms.

"These appointees represent a diverse cross section of the fluid milk industry and I am confident that they will serve fluid milk processors throughout the United States well," said Vilsack.
USDA logo
Appointed to fill vacancies that expire June 30, 2013, are: James F. Walsh, Region 1; Dwight A. Moore, Jr., Region 4; and John M. Gillam, Region 10. Appointed to fill a vacancy that expires June 30, 2014, is: Michael T. Lasky, Region 8.

Newly appointed members are: Bradley S. Anderson, Region 6; Gary L. Aggus, Region 9; and Sandra K. Kelly, Region 12.

Newly reappointed members are: Jay S. Bryant, Region 3; Timothy Kelbel, Region 15; Miriam E. Brown, At-Large Processor; and Mary A. Hill, At-Large Public Member.

The board oversees the collection of the 20-cent per hundredweight mandatory assessment on fluid milk products processed and marketed commercially in the 48 contiguous states and the District of Columbia. Processors who process and market 3 million pounds or less per month, excluding those fluid milk products delivered to the residence of a consumer, are exempt from assessments. In addition, the board develops and administers a coordinated program of promotion, research and nutrition education.

The 20-member board is authorized by the Fluid Milk Promotion Act of 1990, as amended. The Secretary selected the appointees from nominations submitted by eligible processor organizations and the board.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors operation of the board.