Jeff Lyon, Deputy Secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP), certified today the results of the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board (WMMB) 2013 Board of Directors election. There were 13 candidates running for eight board member positions. Of the 3,643 dairy producers in the election districts (per DATCP records), 21.3% returned valid ballots. That number is up from 17.9% in 2012 and 14.6% in 2011. District 15, which had two candidates, recorded the most election participation with 36% of eligible producers voting.

Commencing July 1, 2013, the following dairy producers (representing the indicated districts) will begin a three-year term as elected members of the WMMB:
District 3 Lincoln, Oneida, Price, Taylor
Candidate: Mark Leder, Gleason

District 6 Chippewa, Eau Claire
Candidate: Vivian Thompson, Cadott

District 9 Menominee, Shawano, Waupaca
Candidate: Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg

District 12 Portage, Waushara, Wood
Candidate: Ken Heiman, Marshfield

District 15 Adams, Juneau, Monroe
Candidate: Mary Cook, Wilton

District 18 Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha
Candidate: Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls

District 21 Crawford, Vernon
Candidate: Kevin Walleser, De Soto

District 24 Dane, Jefferson
Candidate: Tina Hinchley, Cambridge

WMMB directors guide the organization's finances, formulate and set its policies and long-range business plan, and maintain its mission: To help grow demand for Wisconsin milk by providing programs that enhance the competitiveness of the Wisconsin Dairy Industry. Through these initiatives, a WMMB director has the opportunity to represent Wisconsin dairy farmers and products, as well as become involved in activities that inform and educate consumers.

For more information on WMMB and the 2013 election, visit This site also contains newly elected director biography information.

Return to Industry Buzz.