Midwest Dairy Association Jerry Messer, a dairy farmer from Richardton, N.D., will continue to lead Midwest Dairy Association in the coming year. Messer was re-elected chairman of the checkoff organization during the group's annual meeting in Minneapolis on March 8-9. Allen Merrill, Parker, S.D., and Bill Siebenborn, Trenton, Mo., were re-elected vice chairman and first vice chairman, respectively. Ken Herbranson of Clitherall, Minn., secretary, and Dan Grunhovd of Gary, Minn., treasurer, were also re-elected.
New members elected by their Divisions to the Midwest Dairy Corporate board include:

  • Debi Clasemann, Long Prairie, Minn.; and
  • Robert Horst, Bristow, Iowa.

Division Board officers and new members are as follows:
Illinois Division

  • Chairman – Bill Deutsch, Sycamore;
  • Vice Chairman – David Jarden, Staunton;
  • Secretary – Ardath DeWall, Shannon; and
  • Treasurer – Glen Meier, Ridott

Iowa Division

  • Chairman – Dan Hotvedt, Mabel, Minn.;
  • Vice Chairman – Bruce Brockshus, Ocheyedan;
  • Secretary – Pam Bolin, Clarksville; and
  • Treasurer – Larry Shover, Delhi

Keith Blake, Eldridge; Doug Carroll, Ryan; and Robert Horst, Bristow, were seated as new members of the Iowa Division Board.

Mo-Kan Division

  • Chairman – Byron Lehman, Newton, Kan.;
  • Vice Chairman – Steve Strickler, Iola, Kan.;
  • Secretary – Donna Telle, Uniontown, Mo.; and
  • Treasurer – Curtis Steenbock, Longford, Kan.

Alex Peterson, Trenton, was seated as a new member of the Mo-Kan Division board.
Minnesota Division
  • Chairman – Ken Herbranson, Clitherall;
  • Vice Chairman – Dan Grunhovd, Gary;
  • Secretary - Suzanne Vold, Glenwood; and
  • Treasurer – Ron Rinkel, Hillman

    The Minnesota Dairy Promotion Council, a quasi-governmental group with the same board members, elected the following:

    • Chairman – Kathleen Skiba, North Branch;
    • Vice Chairman – Barb Liebenstein, Dundas;
    • Secretary – Debi Clasemann, Long Prairie;
    • Treasurer – Christine Sukalski, LeRoy; and
    • Executive member at-large – Peter Ripka, Ogilvie

    Nebraska Division

    • Chairman – Lowell Mueller, Hooper;
    • Vice Chairman – Joyce Racicky, Mason City; and
    • Secretary/Treasurer – Dean Engelman, Jansen.

    Mike Guenther, Beemer, was seated as a new member of the Nebraska Division board. Kim Clark, University of Nebraska – Lincoln, was appointed as a new ex-officio member.

    North Dakota Division

    • Chairman – Jerry Messer, Richardton;
    • Vice Chairman – Terry Entzminger, Jamestown;
    • Secretary – Rita Mosset, Linton; and
    • Treasurer – Lilah Krebs, Gladstone.

    Ozarks Division

    • Chairman – Nathan Roth, Mountain Grove, Mo.;
    • Vice Chairman – Marilyn Calvin, Mt. Vernon, Mo.;
    • Secretary – Lloyd Gunter, Conway, Mo.; and
    • Treasurer – Alfred Million, Tahlequah, Okla.

    South Dakota Division

    • Chairman – Jim Neugebauer, Dimock;
    • Vice Chairman – Mike Frey, Claremont;
    • Secretary – Allen Merrill, Parker; and
    • Treasurer – Gary Jarding, Alexandria

    Annalies Seffrood, Summit, was seated as a new member of the South Dakota Division board in November.
    Return to Industry Buzz.