The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The dairy checkoff has awarded 12 academic scholarships to students enrolled in programs that emphasize dairy and who have shown potential to become future dairy leaders.

The National Dairy Promotion and Research Board (NDB), through Dairy Management Inc., which manages the national dairy checkoff, annually awards $2,500 scholarships to 11 students. In addition, the NDB awards a $3,500 James H. Loper Jr. Memorial Scholarship to one outstanding scholarship recipient.

Eligible majors include journalism, communications/public relations, marketing, business, economics, nutrition, food science, animal science, or agriculture education. Scholarship criteria include academic achievement, a career interest in a dairy-related discipline, along with demonstrated leadership, initiative and integrity.

Kaitlin Mirkin, a University of Idaho student who is double majoring in pre-veterinary medicine and dairy science, has earned the 2022-23 Loper scholarship.

Students earning $2,500 scholarships are: Anthony Agueda (Modesto Junior College), Chloe Calhoun (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Miriam Cook (Purdue University), Doreen Dyt (California Polytechnic State University), Eliza Endres (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Dina Graves (Clemson University), Ross Herber (South Dakota State University), Kylie Konyn (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Gracelyn Krahn (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Brielle Prock (Oklahoma State University), and Kendra Waldenberger (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities).