Cargill logoCargill Animal Nutrition recently presented eight $1,000 checks to senior veterinary students. The occasion was the opening ceremonies of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) Annual Convention in St. Louis, MO, on September 22, 2011. Receiving the checks were Amber Hazel, University of Minnesota; Elisha Adkins, Oregon State University; Joshua Boyden, Cornell University; and Scott Hamilton, University of California at Davis. Not present were Chad Groce, Auburn University; Rachael Gately, Texas A&M; Whitney Auth, University of Wisconsin; and Andy Pike, Auburn University.

scholarship winners

These eight individuals were selected from 36 applicants. Selection was based on commitment to bovine veterinary medicine, interest in bovine nutrition, and understanding of the role of food animal medicine in feeding the world. Cargill provides the funding for these scholarships in recognition of the important position that bovine veterinarians have in the beef and dairy industries. The scholarship program is administered through the AABP Foundation. Dr. Charlie Gardner represented Cargill and presented the checks.