Jan. 24 2023 01:59 PM

Brody Stapel re-elected to serve as president

The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

Edge Dairy Farmer Cooperative, the nation’s third largest dairy cooperative, re-elected three dairy farmers to the board of directors during the co-op’s annual business meeting at the Dairy Strong conference last week.

The three farmers include:

  • Michael Crinion is a dairy farmer from Lake Benton, Minn. Crinion brings 18 years of international dairy experience to the board, where he has served since 2018. He is also a member of the South Dakota Ag and Rural Leadership Class IV, South Dakota Development Board and will continue in his role as Edge vice-president.
  • Heidi Fischer is a dairy farmer from Hatley, Wis. Fischer actively promotes dairy within her community to keep the dialogue about modern agriculture as transparent as possible with neighbors. She sits on their local ag promotion board and chamber. She will continue her role as Edge secretary.
  • Josh Meissner is a dairy farmer from Chili, Wis. He has served in various leadership roles within his community, including coaching football. Meissner was previously appointed to fulfill the remainder of his last board term, vacated by the passing of his father, Jerry.
  • Brody Stapel of Double Dutch Dairy in Cedar Grove, Wis., who has been Edge president since 2018, will continue in that role. Stapel owns and operates the farm with his brother and father.

Other board members: Jamie Witcpalek of Pagel’s Ponderosa Dairy in Kewaunee, Wis., treasurer; Jay Stauffacher of Highway Dairy Farms in Darlington, Wis.; Mitch Davis of Davis Family Dairies in Belle Plaine, Minn.; and Justin Peterson of Creamery Creek Holsteins in Bangor, Wis. John Umhoefer of the Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association and dairy economist Dr. Marin Bozic are advisory members.