NAILEThe Invitational 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl was the first major youth contest to be held at the 40th annual North American International Livestock Exposition (NAILE) in Louisville, Kentucky. Competition took place on Saturday, November 9, and winners were announced at a banquet later that day. The event features a test of knowledge among young people who have set their sights on a career in the dairy business, or in some other aspect of agriculture. This year marks the 34th year for the Dairy Quiz Bowl.

Teams of knowledgeable young people from 19-states competed for top honors by testing their knowledge on many levels of the dairy business at the November exposition. Dr. Donna M. Amaral-Phillips, Extension Professor & Extension Dairy Nutritionist at the University of Kentucky, has been the contest superintendent for 25-years and she views the Dairy Quiz Bowl as a venue that provides extremely valuable experience for young people. "Participation in the Dairy Quiz Bowl broadens educational horizons and expands potential industry opportunities for young people who are involved," observed Dr. Amaral-Phillips.

The North American International Livestock Exposition encourages youth training through participation in virtually every aspect of the exposition's vast activities. The NAILE hosted seven (7) major youth judging contests in 2013.
Georgia 4-H: Front row: Henry Hibbs, coach; Jared Daniel;
Back row: Godfrey Hendrix, Colton Lowder, Meghan Mitchell

Georgia captured its second national title in 2013. Team members include Jared Daniel, Godfrey Hendrix, Colton Lowder and Meghan Mitchell. They were coached by Henry Hibbs.

The results of the 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl contest:
Winning teams
1st: Georgia 4-H
2nd: New York
3rd: Illinois 4-H
4th: Wisconsin 4-H
Honorable Mentions: Iowa 4-H and Maryland 4-H

High Individuals on the written test
1. Godfrey Hendrix, Georgia 4-H
2. Emily Irwin, Illinois 4-H
3. Kelli Steinlage, Iowa 4-H
4. Seth Rankins, Alabama 4-H
5. Colton Lowder, Georgia 4-H
6. Michaela Richmond, New York 4-H
7. Nathan Koester, Illinois 4-H
8. Sabrina Portner, Minnesota 4-H
9. Jared Daniel, Georgia 4-H
10. Anna Folgate, Illinois 4-H

Enjoy the video with all teams represented from the 2013 contest.