The information listed below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. The information provided here has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.
Tom Luebke, Mayer, Minn., took Grand Champion Forage honors and was awarded a $2,500 check for his grass hay entry in the World Forage Analysis Superbowl. The cash award was presented by Kemin, and was one of many, recognizing top-quality forage entries in the annual contest.
More than $25,000 in cash prizes were awarded to top-finishing producers participating in this year’s contest. Producers submitted 373 entries in eight forage categories, representing 24 states and provinces, including entries in the new Organic Hay category. The winners were announced Oct. 5 at the World Forage Analysis Superbowl Awards Luncheon, sponsored by Mycogen Seeds, at World Dairy Expo®.
The Grand Champion First-Time Entrant cash award of $1,500 went to Dyanmic Dairy Nutrition, Hixton, Wis. The prize money was made possible by Kuhn North America.
Each category’s top finisher received $1,500. Second-place winners received $500; third-place, $250; and fourth-place winners, $100 each.
In addition, two Quality Counts Awards were awarded for quality forage production; however, the criteria for selection are unknown to contestants at the time of entry. This year’s Hay/Haylage and Corn Silage winners were selected based on MIR kd rate calculations. These rates are based on in vitro analysis of multiple NDFD time points and uNDF240, providing a timeline for fiber digestibility. CROPLAN By Winfield presented each winner with $1,000. The top entry for the Quality Counts Corn Silage was Schwantes Dairy, Perham, Minn. In the Quality Counts Hay/Haylage category, New Day Dairy, Athens, Wis., topped the category.
Growers from across the U.S. and Canada were invited to send their best samples in either dairy or commercial divisions. Dairy samples are judged on lab analysis (60%), visual judging (30%), and calculated milk per ton (10%). Commercial entries are judged on lab analysis (70%) and visual judging (30%). Visual judging consists of analysis of the color, texture, maturity and leafiness, depending on the category. Dairyland Laboratories, located in DePere, Wis., tested the samples.
Sponsors of the 2016 World Forage Analysis Superbowl include category sponsors Ag-Bag, Agri-King, Agrisure Traits, Barenbrug USA, Blue River Hybrids, CROPLAN By WinField, Kemin, Kuhn North America, Mycogen Seeds, NEXGROW alfalfa and W-L Research. Additional support is provided by the National Hay Association as the Silver Sponsor and Mycogen Seeds as a Platinum Sponsor.
Organizing partners for this year’s contest include DairyBusiness Communications; Dairyland Laboratories, Inc.; Hay & Forage Grower; U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center; University of Wisconsin-Madison; and World Dairy Expo.
The top five placings from each category are:
Grand Champion Baleage - Sponsored by Agri-King
1st Place – Darin Cox, Merom, Ind.
2nd Place –Nathan Yoder, Little Suamico, Wis.
3rd Place – Blank Dairy, Ixonia, Wis.
4th Place – D-S Holsteins, Monticello, Wis.
5th Place –Opportunity Acres, Lena, Wis.
Grand Champion Commercial Hay - Sponsored by NEXGROW Alfalfa
1st Place – Hardrock Farms, Wheatland, Wyo.
2nd Place – Lazy 2K Livestock, Wheatland, Wyo.
3rd Place – Schmidt JV, Center, Colo.
4th Place – Dick and Powell Farm, Cordell, Okla.
5th Place –Kamps Alfalfa Farms, Darlington, Wis.
Grand Champion Dairy Hay - Sponsored by W-L Research
1st Place – Harry Adams Jr., Byron, Ill.
2nd Place – Jack Stamschror, Kellogg, Minn.
3rd Place – Holst Farms, Lake City, Minn.
4th Place – Muniak Farms, Attica, N.Y.
5th Place –Rosedale Genetics, Oxford, Wis.
Grand Champion Grass Hay - Sponsored by Barenbrug USA
1st Place – Paradise Rose Rueth, Oxford, Wis.
2nd Place – Jack Stamschror, Kellogg, Minn.
3rd Place – Angelrose Dairy, Brainbridge, N.Y.
4th Place – Donald and Nancy Hasselquist, Osceola, Wis.
5th Place –Church Farms, Grand Marsh, Wis.
Grand Champion Haylage - Sponsored by Ag-Bag
1st Place – New Day Dairy, Athens, Wis.
2nd Place – V-Valley Farm, Granton, Wis.
3rd Place – S&B Dairy, Sigel, Ill.
4th Place – Golden Corners Dairy, Oconto Fall, Wis.
5th Place –Calvin & Tammy Beumer, Hillman, Minn.
Grand Champion Organic Hay – Sponsored by Blue River Hybrids
1st Place – Pounder Bros Inc., Delavan, Wis.
2nd Place – Joe Beachy, Bonduel, Wis.
3rd Place – Pounder Bros Inc., Delavan, Wis.
4th Place – Wilke R Farms, Sturgeon Bay, Wis.
5th Place – Linnemeier Farms, Fort Wayne, Ind.
Grand Champion Standard Corn Silage - Sponsored by Agrisure Traits
1st Place – Koster Dairy, Falmouth, Mich.
2nd Place – Krzewina Dairy, Crivitz, Wis.
3rd Place – Gordon Smith Farms, E. Concord, N.Y.
4th Place – Schleis Farms, Kewaunee, Wis.
5th Place – Deer Run Dairy, Kewaunee, Wis
Grand Champion BMR Corn Silage - Mycogen Seeds
1st Place – Mapleview Farm, Madrid, N.Y.
2nd Place – Daystar Dairy, Little Falls, Minn.
3rd Place – Collins Knoll Farm, Sauquoit, N.Y.
4th Place – Petersons Dairy LLC, Lena, Wis.
5th Place – Tayl-Wind Farm, Cassville, N.Y.
Recognized as the meeting place for the global dairy industry, World Dairy Expo attracts more than 70,000 attendees from over 90 countries to Madison, Wis. each year. The annual event will take place October 4–8, 2016, with the theme of “Celebrate 50!” to commemorate its golden anniversary. Visit or follow us on Facebook and Twitter (@WDExpo or #Celebrate50) for more information.