Oct. 1 2020 08:32 PM

The American Association of Bovine Practitioners Foundation gives veterinary students financial help.

The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

In 2020, $193,500 in scholarships were awarded to American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) student members. Student recipients were acknowledged at the 2020 53rd AABP Annual Conference which was held virtually Sept. 24-26 in Louisville, Ky. The awards, funded by AABP members, AABP industry partners Merck Animal Health and Zoetis, and the AABP Foundation, will enable recipients to further pursue their careers in bovine medicine.

The AABP Foundation administers all of the charitable functions of AABP. New this year was the Dr. Francis Welcome Future Dairy Practitioner award in memory of the late Dr. Frank Welcome, and the National Cattlemen’s Foundation award for a student interested in beef cattle medicine. In total there were 196 applications from 18 veterinary schools.

“The quality of the applications this year were a testament to the caliber of bovine veterinary students that will soon join our profession and take this organization and industry to the next level. It is always exciting and refreshing to me when I see these enthusiastic students. I appreciate that so many of them joined us this year virtually to receive their award”

2020 Amstutz Scholarship

Five veterinary students received $7,500 from AABP’s premier scholarship, the 2020 Harold E. Amstutz Scholarship. Funding sources are AABP member contributions, investment fund interest and dividends, and proceeds from the AABP Live and Silent Auctions and raffle. The 2020 recipients are:

· Bailey Archey, Mississippi State University

· Montana Lins, University of Wisconsin

· Maryanna Hudson, Mississippi State University

· Allyson Patterson, North Carolina State University

· Michael Scolaro, Ontario Veterinary College

2020 AABP Foundation-Zoetis Scholarship

Veterinary students graduating in 2021 were eligible for the AABP Foundation-Zoetis Scholarship. This year 10 students received the $5,000 award which is generously funded by Zoetis. The 2020 recipients are:

· Thomas Duff, University of Minnesota

· Elisabeth Forker, Iowa State University

· Isabela Knecht, Cornell University

· Kyle Longcore, Michigan State University

· Karalyn Lonngren, University of Pennsylvania

· Jaclyn Melvin, Cornell University

· Caitlyn Mullins, North Carolina State University

· Kathryn Osborne, Michigan State University

· Meghan Oswald, Cornell University

· Carrick Perlinger, Iowa State University

· Jonathon Richardson, Purdue University

· Austin Wenck, University of Wisconsin

2020 AABP Foundation -Merck Animal Health

Bovine Veterinary Student Recognition Awards

Eighteen 3rd and 4th year veterinary students have been chosen to receive this $5,000 scholarship generously sponsored by Merck Animal Health. The 2020 recipients are:

· Taylor Aubrey, University of Minnesota

· Rachael Bonacker, University of Missouri

· Braxton Butler, Kansas State University

· Rachel Crouse, Colorado State University

· Cassandra Gorrill, Ontario Veterinary College

· Maryanna Hudson, Mississippi State University

· Austin Jacobson, Western College of Veterinary Medicine

· Hannah Jarvis, The Ohio State University

· Annika Johnson, Iowa State University

· Lani Kaspar, Texas A&M University

· Wyatt Krom, Purdue University

· Raul Landeo, University of Wisconsin

· Dena Renee Letot, Michigan State University

· Logan Murray, University of Georgia

· Alexandra Newhouse, Washington State University

· Meghan Oswald, Cornell University

· Allyson Patterson, North Carolina State University

· Allison Pellerito, Iowa State University

2020 Francis Welcome

Future Dairy Practitioner Scholarship

The purpose of the Francis Welcome Memorial Scholarship is to support a superior 3rd year veterinary student who demonstrates the character, knowledge and potential to become an outstanding dairy veterinarian upon graduation. The award is $1,000.

The Francis Welcome Memorial Scholarship was endowed by the Welcome family, and supported through member donations, to honor the memory of AABP Honor Roll member Dr. Francis (Frank) Welcome who was actively involved in the AABP organization throughout his career.

· Meghan Oswald, Cornell University

National Cattlemen’s Foundation
Veterinary Student Scholarship

The National Cattlemen’s Foundation funded a one-time scholarship for a veterinary student with a graduation year of 2021 or 2022, who is interested in beef cattle medicine. Students were scored on their overall experiences and coursework related to beef cattle medicine, and a desire to work in the field of beef cattle medicine after graduation. The award is $5,000.

· Elisabeth Forker, Iowa State University