The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The Central Plains Dairy Foundation is accepting applications for the Lon and Kathy Tonneson Dairy Leadership Scholarship and Central Plains Dairy Foundation (CPDF) Dairy Scholarships Grant.

Established in 2019 by Tracey and Brian Erickson, the Lon and Kathy Tonneson Dairy Leadership Scholarship honors Lon and Kathy for their dedication to growing the dairy industry. Students who have completed at least one semester in a post-secondary college or university, pursuing a degree in agriculture with an emphasis in agriculture communication and/or leadership are eligible for this scholarship. Preference will be given to applicants in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

The CPDF Dairy Scholarships Grant program is available to organizations and schools wishing to provide scholarships to dairy students. Students must be attending a two or four-year college that offers one or more dairy education programs. This grant and subsequent scholarships are intended for up and coming young leaders in the dairy industry. Awardees must attend a post-secondary school in Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, or South Dakota.

“Strong leaders are the core of the dairy industry,” says Tiffany Thompson, Executive Director of the Central Plains Dairy Foundation. “We created these scholarships and grant programs to support youth across the midwest as they pursue their dreams of joining and strengthening our industry."

Applications must be submitted by September 30, 2022.

More information about the scholarship and grant programs and applications are available online at

For additional information about the Central Plains Dairy Foundation, call 605.412.8403 or email

The Central Plains Dairy Foundation is an independent 501(c)3 organization committed to investing in proactive programming to support the dairy industry along the I-29 corridor in South Dakota, North Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, and Minnesota.