Oct. 4 2014 08:00 AM

Youth showcase their cattle presentation skills


It was an amazing sight . . . hundreds of youth stayed late into the night on Thursday to compete in World Dairy Expo's showmanship contest. Youth were broken down into heats by age, and then a handful were invited back for the finals in the novice, intermediate and senior divisions. After 331 youth competed throughout the evening, the final class left the ring after 11:00 p.m.

Enjoy this slide show showcasing the enthusiasm of youth from all breeds for showing dairy cattle.

Final placings:

Senior Division: Ages 17 to 20
Judge: Steve Frasier

1. Katelyn Crest, Athabasca, Alberta
2. Jennifer Charlton, Brantford, Ontario
3. Elizabeth Sarbacker, Verona, Wis.
4. Sara Griswold, Black Earth, Wis.
5. Emily Franken, Teeswater, Ontario
6. Megan Opperman, Rockford, Ill.
7. James Jens, Newton, Wis.
8. Courtney Ray, Coryville, Ontario
9. Ava Doner, Courtice, Ontario
10. Darren Kamphius, Brandon, Wis.

Intermediate Division: Ages 13 to 16
Judge: John Johnsen

1. Kayla Umbel, Emmitsburg, Md.
2. Renee Pierick, Prairie Du Sac, Wis.
3. Jaynie Rule, Dodgeville, Wis.
4. Alli Walker, Wisconsin Dells, Wis.
5. Roseanne Crave, Waterloo, Wis.
6. Matthew Boop, Millmont, Pa.
7. Samantha Goodfield, Barre, Mass.
8. Shelby Ostrom, De Pere, Wis.
9. Mason Jauquet, Pulaski, Wis.
10. Mikhayla Luttropp, Berlin, Wis.

Junior Division: Ages 9 to 12
Judge: Julie DeLavergne

1. Noah Bilz, Dorchester, Wis.
2. Ava Booth, Plymouth, Wis.
3. Clarissa Ulness, Valders, Wis.
4. Chandler Bening, Arlington, Minn.
5. Madison Calvert, Cuba City, Wis.
6. Jared Abraham, Plymouth, Wis.
7. Trinity Miller, Westminister, Md.
8. Lauren McDonald, Hartland, Wis.
9. Matthew Gunst, Hartford, Wis.
10. Garrett Ulness, Valders, Wis.

Earlier in the week, a separate fitting contest was held. Each participant brought an unclipped animal to fit for the competition and was allotted just one hour to prepare her. Dusty Schirm served as judge. Participants hailed from as far away as Scotland. Here are the final winners:

1. Steven Nelson, Mo.
2. Lee Morey, Alberta, Canada
3. Jonathan Beiler, Penn.
4. Levi Banowetz, Iowa
5. Austin Naumann, Wis.

Hurtgen blog footerThe author is the online media manager and is responsible for the website, webinars and social media. A graduate of Modesto Junior College and Fresno State, she was raised on a California dairy and frequently blogs on youth programs and consumer issues.