Oct. 3 2019 03:29 PM

Awards will be given and students will receive an impressive number of scholarships at the annual National Dairy Shrine banquet.

The National Dairy Shine was established 70 years ago. Tonight, the association will honor Industry Pioneers, a Distinguished Dairy Cattle Breeder, a Guest of Honor, and numerous outstanding college students at their annual banquet held at World Dairy Expo.

The Guest of Honor is Mike Hutjens, a professor at the University of Illinois. Hutjens has been a fixture in dairy cattle nutrition and education for many years.

The Industry Pioneers include Michael Barnes, Kenneth Butcher, John Clay, Sheila McGuirk, and Larry Moore. All are expected to attend, with the exception of Red and White cattle breeder Larry Moore who passed away in 1985.

A brother and sister team will be recognized with the Distinguished Dairy Cattle Breeder award. Mary Shank Creek and Ralph Shank of Palmyra Farms in Maryland will accept this prestigious award for their accomplishments with their Ayrshire herd.

College students will be presented scholarship monies to continue their education. A total of $57,500 will be handed out to 47 winners at tonight’s banquet.

To learn more about National Dairy Shrine, visit www.dairyshrine.org.

Patti Hurtgen

The author is the online media manager and is responsible for the website, webinars, and social media. A graduate of Modesto Junior College and Fresno State, she was raised on a California dairy and frequently blogs on youth programs and consumer issues.