Oct. 12 2016 09:27 AM

Prestigious awards were given to several bovine veterinarians at the American Association of Bovine Practitioners 2016 49th Annual Conference in Charlotte, N.C.

The information listed below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. The information provided here has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The top honor for the Bovine Practitioner of the Year award from the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) was given to Dr. Frank Schenkels, Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia, Canada, at the 2016 AABP Annual Conference in Charlotte, N.C., Sept. 15-17. The award, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Inc., honors a veterinarian in active practice who is active in organized veterinary medicine and who has made significant contributions to bovine medicine.

Several other bovine veterinarians were also honored at the Annual Business Meeting and Awards Luncheon on Sept. 17. They are:

Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine

This award recognizes individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Because of differences in management goals and needs, one award is given to recognize an outstanding program for dairy production, and one for beef production. The 2016 recipients are:

  • (Dairy) Dr. Greg Crosley, Somerset, Mich.
  • (Beef) Dr. Tom Portillo, Amarillo, Texas

AABP Award of Excellence

Sponsored by AABP, recipients must be involved in teaching, research, industry or government areas. The recipient’s professional activities must have had a consistent and direct influence on daily activities of veterinarians in bovine practice. The 2016 recipient is:

  • Dr. Dale Grotelueschen, Harvard, Neb.

Zoetis Distinguished Service Award

The recipient of this award is an individual who, through long and continued service, has promoted the goals of the AABP and whose accomplishments have served as a model for service to bovine agriculture through organized veterinary medicine. The 2016 recipient is:

  • Dr. John Davidson, Shiner, Texas

Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year Award

The recipient of this award is an AABP member who has been engaged in the field of veterinary medicine for at least 25 years and has served as both advisor and role model to pre-veterinary and/or veterinary students. This award is given to a member who embodies this spirit whether in practice, the clinic, or the classroom. The 2016 recipient is:

  • Dr. Sarel van Amstel, Knoxville, Tenn.

Amstutz Williams Award

The award was established in 1986 by the American Association of Bovine Practitioners in honor of Dr. Harold E. Amstutz who served the AABP as secretary-treasurer and executive vice president until 1993, and Dr. Eric I. Williams who was the editor of the Bovine Practitioner and Proceedings Book from 1969 until 1998. The award was made to recognize the long and distinguished services of the two honorees. It is the highest honor that can be bestowed by the AABP.

  • Dr. M. Gatz Riddell, Jr., Auburn, Alabama

Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame

The Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame annually recognizes one beef and one dairy veterinarian for their lifelong commitment to bovine veterinary medicine. This award is sponsored by AABP, the Academy of Veterinary Consultants, Bovine Veterinarian, Merck Animal Health and Osborn Barr. The 2016 inductees are:

  • (Dairy) Dr. Keith Sterner, Ionia, Mich.
  • (Beef) Dr. Roger Panciera, Stillwater, Okla.

Find out more about AABP awards and past recipients at http://aabp.org/about/pastawards.asp.

Student Chapter and Faculty Advisor Awards

New in 2016, these awards recognize the activities and involvement of an AABP student chapter, as well as the activities and mentorship of a faculty advisor to bovine veterinary students.

  • Student Chapter – The Ohio State University
  • Faculty Advisor – Theresa Ollivett, University of Wisconsin