The information below has been supplied by dairy marketers and other industry organizations. It has not been edited, verified or endorsed by Hoard’s Dairyman.

The Association of Women in Agriculture Benefit Corporation (AWABC) awarded two scholarships to Association of Women in Agriculture (AWA) alumni members totaling $5,000. This was the organization’s third year awarding graduate student scholarships.

The first scholarship winner is Meikah Dado. Dado graduated in 2021 with degrees in Dairy Science and Life Sciences Communication. She is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications at Texas A&M to prepare for a career as a faculty member at a research-focused university. Dado says, “I knew I wanted to be a professor while attending UW-Madison and was inspired by a dairy science faculty member who was an incredible researcher and teacher.”

Hannah Tremaine is the second scholarship winner. Tremaine is a 2022 graduate of University of Wisconsin-Madison and is continuing her education at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in the Speech-Language Pathology Master's program. This program will provide her with the necessary education and experiences to become a certified Speech-Language Pathologist. “I have loved learning about other students’ different backgrounds in the agriculture industry and the network I have connected with,” said Tremaine.

The AWABC is proud to award scholarships to help alumni members achieve their goals and support their further education.