by Lucas Sjostrom, Hoard's Dairyman Associate Editor

New York state teams took home first and second place in the post-secondary dairy judging contest at World Dairy Expo Monday. State University of New York (SUNY) Cobleskill scored 2,133 points to edge out Morrisville State College, who earned 2,123 points. The Monday night awards ceremony honored teams from schools with two-year programs for their judging feats during the practical and linear contests on Sunday night and the traditional contest Monday morning.

Rounding out the top five teams were the UW Madison Farm and Industry Short Course in third, Michigan State Ag Tech in fourth and Northeast Iowa Community College to round out the top five. Sixth went to Kaskaskia College, seventh to Modesto Junior College, eighth to University of Minnesota-Crookston, ninth to Lakeshore Technical College and tenth to the team from Honduras.
Austen Schmidt
Schmidt takes home individual title

Despite winning the overall title, SUNY-Cobleskill only placed 2 teammates in the top 10. They included Sarah Andrew in third place at 721 points and Rayne Paddock at 707 points. Besting Andrew was Samantha Ropp in second place with a two point advantage at 723.

First place went to Austen Schmidt, with 747 points, 24 points over second place Ropp. Rounding out the top 10 were Duncan Baaley in fourth, Whitney Lian in fifth, Rachel Scott in sixth and Nick Duncanson in seventh. Eight place went to Malissa Reed and ninth place was Marshall Hinz. At right, coach Brian Kelroy with Austen Schmidt.

In reasons, Schmidt fell to third place as Samantha Ropp took first place with 177 points. Besides Ropp in first and Sarah Andrew in fifth the top eight spots were held by New Yorkers. The top ten were Ropp, Mitchell Ruth in second, Susten Schmidt in third, Marshall Hinz in fourth, Sarah Andrew fifth, sixth to Duncan Baaley, seventh for Rayne Paddock, Marybeth Shults in eighth, Rachel Scott in ninth and Nicholas Schuster in tenth.

Practical contest goes to Northeast Iowa
In the Sunday night practical contest, Northeast Iowa Community College (NICC) took the prize with 516 points. They were followed by SUNY-Cobleskill (SUNY-C) at 495, then Modesto Junior College (MJC), University of Minnesota-Crookston (UMC) and Lakeshore Technical College in fifth (LTC).

In the contest on linear scores only, UMC placed first followed by NICC, SUNY-C, MJC and LTC.

Also in the linear contest, Corissa Robinson of UMC took first place with 146 points. She was followed by Shults in second, Lian in third, Hornberg fourth and Scott fifth. In sixth place was Paddock, seventh was Eric Migliazzo and Jake Mills, tied at 143. In eighth was Conner Tollenaar, ninth was another tie for Emily Pelletierr and Marie Philipsen and tenth to Calvin Abts.