The Merle Howard Award given to the show's top junior exhibitor. The award is given in honor of the 1954 Klussendorf winner Merle Howard. Howard was a long-time World Dairy Expo volunteer, who also served as herd manager for Mooseheart Farms, as Holstein classifier, and later in the sales and export business. He was on the first board of directors of National Dairy Shrine and is only one of six people to have won its 4-E Award for outstanding service.

Merle Howard Award Winners at the 2021 World Dairy Expo

Here are the past winners of the Merle Howard Award:
2021: Kylie Nickels, WI
2019: Kaleb Kruse, IA
2018: Kyle Barton, NY
2017: Dawson Nickels, WI
2016: Doug Boop, PA
2015: Jared Dueppengiesser, NY
2014: Jade Jensen, MO
2013: Cassy Krull, WI
2012: Cy Conard, NY
2011: Karen Anderson, MN
2010: Stephanie Aves, IL
2009: Kyle Natzke, WI
2008: Kelly Lee, WI
2007: Brandon Ferry, WI
2006: Greta Koebel, MI
2005: Matt Mitchell, TN
2004: Robert Teixeira, CA