Sept. 30 2015 06:05 AM

    All four Minnesota teammates received All-American honors in their first-place finish at the 2015 Lely National Intercollegiate Dairy Cattle Judging Contest.

    The University of Minnesota had a good day at the 2015 Lely Intercollegiate Dairy Cattle Judging Contest, to say the least. With 2,562 points, the team finished in first and earned 54 more points than the team in second. The team, coached by Les Hansen, Scott Ellinghuysen and Alicia Thurk, also talked their way to the top of the oral reasons portion of the contest.

    University of Minnesota, High Collegiate Team

    University of Minnesota, was named High Team of the National Intercollegiate Dairy Judging Contest

    Vincent Migliazzo led the Gophers as the high individual overall. He was also the top individual in oral reasons and second in the placings portion of the contest. His teammate Nathan Donnay placed second overall and won the placings contest, while Eric Houdek placed sixth overall, and Matthew Hanson finished eleventh. All four University of Minnesota judges earned All-American honors by placing among the top 25 individuals in the contest.

    Vincent Migliazzo, University of Minnesota, was named High Individual
    of the National Intercollegiate Dairy Judging Contest

    The same can be true about the team in second, the University of Wisconsin-Madison. The Badgers were led by Janelle Remington, who placed fourth overall and second in oral reasons. Bethany Dado finished eighth overall. Remington, Dado, and teammates Jordan Ebert and Cody Getschel also placed second in oral reasons. Brian Kelroy and Chad Wethal coached the team. Annie Achen from Purdue University finished third overall, third in placings and fourth in oral reasons. Joseph Adams from Iowa State University rounded out the top five individuals, and his team was third overall and third in reasons. Cornell University came in fourth overall and fourth in oral reasons, and the University of Wisconsin-River Falls finished fifth overall and fifth in reasons. In all, 18 teams participated in the contest. The top 25 judges who earned All-American honors are as follows:
    1. Vincent Migliazzo, University of Minnesota
    2. Nathan Donnay, University of Minnesota
    3. Annie Achen, Purdue University
    4. Janelle Remington, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    5. Joseph Adams, Iowa State University
    6. Eric Houdek, University of Minnesota
    7. Amanda Mitcheltree, Virginia Tech
    8. Bethany Dado, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    9. Lars Sivesind, Iowa State University
    10. Gina Fisher, Iowa State University
    11. Matthew Hanson, University of Minnesota
    12. Colleen Smith, Cornell University
    13. Alex Huibregtse, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
    14. Jordan Ebert, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    15. Michael Rush, Penn State University
    16. Colleen Cargile, Cornell University
    17. Laura Lubeski, Michigan State University
    18. Cassy Krull, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
    19. Cole Mark, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
    20. Lauren Hill, Cornell University
    21. Adam Hill, Cornell University
    22. Cody Jodrey, The Ohio State University
    23. Jacob Pintens, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
    24. Kelly Raterink, Michigan State University
    25. Cody Getschel, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Return to Hoard's at Expo homepage

    Abby Bauer, Associate Editor

    The author is an associate editor and covers animal health, dairy housing and equipment, and nutrient management. She grew up on a dairy farm near Plymouth, Wis., and previously served as a University of Wisconsin agricultural extension agent. She received a master’s degree from North Carolina State University and a bachelor’s from University of Wisconsin-Madison.